Beth's New Normal

My Word to Carry into 2018

Leave a comment

Over the last week I’ve been truly reflecting on 2017 and preparing my heart for what really matters in 2018.  It’s no surprise that a resounding cry for balance and self-discipline continue to come to play in every aspect of this.  Over the last year I’ve established some great habits.  By the weekend I will have read a bit of the Bible each day, getting through it in a year’s time.  I’ve also increased my time at the gym, and my water intake.  My sleep habits are still lacking and my eating habits are quite frankly a roller coaster.  Great three days, awful four.  Great five days, and then awful two.  I truly lack self discipline here.
balance 2018
There are people and relationships that changed in 2017, nothing dramatic, just different.  My heart grew this year and my goals and dreams have heightened again.   I’ve purged my home and my heart of some junk both spiritual and physical and as I look forward to a new year I can just as easily feel triumphant as I can feel defeated.  We weathered some amazing things as a family.  We learned how to manage more than I could imagine possible in our schedules and still have place for some fun.  At the same time I struggle with things left undone.  Disappointments I’ve caused others, although unintentional, still heartbreaking.  Here creeps that balance thing again.  Which leads to me to my theme word of 2018, it’s a repeat of an oldie but goodie.  Balance is where my focus must lie as we approach the upcoming trip around the globe.  I have to learn to love, accept, and like me right where I am.  I have to learn to do what I can to the best of my ability, and to prioritize.  Allowing the details to distract from the big picture will only slow my path.
I love to journal and I’m sort of a data junkie! So for January I’ve created a journal to track the habits that matter most to me everyday. From as simple as taking time to truly focus on morning and evening skincare to as involved as purging something daily all month.  So far so good. There’s something gratifying about checking things off a list for me.  Baby steps, right? That’s part of seeking some balance for me is not going over board and burning myself out with some super crazy idea of what I can accomplish by being out of balance and hyperfocused in a singular area.
May your 2018 find you freeing yourself of conventional ideals and wrapping your head around your own balance!

Leave a comment